Who is FrostburgFirst?






FrostburgFirst Executive Director, Deirdre Robertson

A native of Keyser, WV, Deirdre grew up going to swim meets at Frostburg University and doing community theatre at the Palace. Robertson completed a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology at Shepherd University, and then completed a Master of Journalism and Mass Communications degree at Marshall University, with a concentration in public relations. As a student, she worked at the Marshall Artists Series in the public relations and marketing department and got to see firsthand the benefits of a strong relationship between a university and the surrounding community. Deirdre taught public speaking, public relations, and other communications courses at Shepherd University for several years, and upon her return to the Keyser area, she worked as a library assistant at Keyser-Mineral County Public Library. As a result of this experience, Robertson pursued a second Master degree in Information Science at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville. While completing her degree, Robertson worked as a museum/archives technician with the National Park Service (NPS) at Harpers Ferry Center in the NPS History Collection and the NPS Commissioned Art Collection, which fostered her interest in historic preservation and community identity. Robertson is thrilled to be a part of a thriving community and working together to implement a collaborative vision for downtown Frostburg, and hopes to contribute to making Frostburg a destination for arts and entertainment, cultural heritage, economic vitality, and historic significance.


Spring Intern, Luke Riley

My name is Luke Riley and I am thrilled to be working with FrostburgFirst as an intern this semester. I opted to reach out to FrostburgFirst because in this community I see pride, not only for the town, but for small businesses in the area. I am native to the beautiful, mountainous region that is Western Maryland, having been born and raised in nearby Oakland, MD in Garrett County. I am currently a junior at Frostburg State University studying Mass Communication, Marketing, and Public Relations. I look forward to working with the FrostburgFirst staff to push forward my professional knowledge in marketing, event planning, and relationship building and to help stimulate the community.







Board Members of FrostburgFirst:


Officers 2019/2020:

Diana Iman – President (Funky Repurps and More) 

Meg Roque – Vice President (Carter and Roque) 

Jacki Dixon- Secretary (Mountain City Center for the Arts)

Dr. Joseph M. Hoffman- Treasurer (Frostburg State University Representative)




Donny Carter (Mayor and Council Representative)

LJ Bennett (City Staff Representative)

William Mandicott (Frostburg State University Representative)

Bill Bingman (Children’s Literature Centre)

Lauren Pappas (Princess Restaurant) 

Abby Lindner (Madison Paige Boutique)

Kyle Durbin (Frostburg United Methodist Church)

Meghan Guthrie (LG’s Pizzeria)



Website Contributors:

Paul Maxey – Web Design & Development (Maxey Web Development LLC)

Ed DeWitt – Photo Contributor – Check out Ed’s facebook page for more information on his photography!